Dyeing, Dyeing, and More Dyeing….

A few weeks ago I spent a day doing some dyeing.  I realized that my stacks of hand dyed fabrics to sell was getting mighty low.  So I spent a day dyeing and then hours of ironing to get them ready to sell.  I love the palette of colors I ended up with…butterscotch, curry, terra cotta, olive in light and dark, and indigo blue.  I decided to dye in such a way that I could get a piece with lighter value in the same tub as the the darker ones.

They look so yummy all stacked up together!

Today, I have started at it again. I sold a few yards at the show, but I still needed to beef up my stash as I will be setting up to sell to some fantastic quilters coming to New Harmony from Kentucky.  I have sold to these gals before at the farmer’s market and believe me, they like fabric!  So I am getting ready for them.  One slight problem…my stash of Pure Threads by James Thompson is on the very low side.  I have been pulling out every piece of white or off white cotton I can find in my house, since I can’t get any bolts of it here on time.  I have now dyed my Pimatex cotton (that I usually paint skies on) and yesterday I purchased quilt backing cotton and dyed it too as well as a cheaper natural muslin. I have some heavier weight sateen type cotton that I could dye too…not sure why I bought that in a wide width…

The first batch is now rinsed, washed, and dried, but there is more to go…and then there’s all that ironing….

Sweetness and Wool Felt

I’m still here, believe it or not.  I have been busy as a bee getting ready for fall shows and events.  Even in August.  Some things I have been doing lately is this:

Isn’t it sweet?

A sweet little wool felt needle case. I sewed the button flowers on and embroidered the stems and leaves in the little flower garden. Then I practiced the blanket stitch on the edge.

I vended at the Quilt Connection’s quilt show this past weekend in Greenwood, IN.  It was a very good show with a very good attendance.  The show coordinator had a bunch of these kits left over after the demonstrations were done and she offered me one.  Now I will make her one of MY needlecases made from paper cloth.  I hope she likes it!