Squeegees

When I started screenprinting, I used credit cards.  They were cheap and always on hand.  Then I  bought a real screen squeegee.  It is an 8 inch one with a rubber edge and a wooden handle.  I like it, but it is a little unwieldy because of size and doesn’t always fit inside every screen.  I can’t imagine using a larger one.  Then I heard about Bondo scrapers.  So off to Auto Zone I went.  Yep, they had them…and this is what they look like.

DSC00087

Here are my observations:

1. credit cards are too small to get a good grip with your hands,

2. regular squeegees can be a bit bulky to handle, but are large enough to get a good grip with your hands, and

3.  Bondo scrapers are wonderful…they have  a bit of give, they are a good size for your hand…I love them!

10 thoughts on “Squeegees”

  1. Hi Bev, I had never heard of Bondo scrapers til Rayna started talking about them…then I just had to try them. I did the experiment for Jane with the thermofax screens. She sent each of us a tool to use also, but it was such hard plastic…I think the Bondos are better. I think it’s that little bit of rubbery give they have in them that I like……

  2. Hi Kathy,

    Yes, the glue washes out of the screen pretty easily — sometimes, too easily when you are using hot water to get the paint out of the screen.

    BTW – even the bondo scrapers differ, depending on the brand. Some of them are just too flexible for me…others are perfect.

  3. I keep hearing about these bondo scrapers, and I have an Auto Zone fairly close, but I can never remember to pick some up! I’m going to put it on my list right now!

  4. Hi Michelle, Yup, they are pretty good. I used mine yesterday again…a larger one this time…it worked great…and they are not expensive. Thanks for commenting.

  5. Hi Kathy,

    Happy to read that you found a useful tool to help create one of your masterpieces. Keep those creative juices flowing.

  6. Oh I’m so glad you’ve posted these pictures – I’ve heard so much about these and now I can look to see if I can get them in the UK!

Leave a Reply

